39 Posts

SAFER CYCLING ( BE AWARE )

AFTER THE BRADLEY WIGGINS ACCIDENT A FEW WEEKS AGO I HAVE FOUND THAT MOTORISTS ( WHICH I AM AS WELL AS A CYCLIST ) HAVE BEEN A LOT MORE AWARE OF ME ON THE ROAD, WHICH IS A GOOD THING. HOWEVER ONLY THE OTHER DAY ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK, I WAS TAKEN OUT BY A DRIVER PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE ON A WELL LIT ROAD. I WAS WEARING MY HELMET, BRIGHT ORANGE TOP AND USING LIGHTS. THIS RESULTED IN 2 FRACTURED RIBS & A HAIRLINE FRACTURE OF MY SHOULDER BLADE. MY LEFT LEG DOESNT LOOK TO PRETTY EITHER. THE DRIVER SAID SHE COULDNT SEE ME ( MALE OR FEMALE ISNT RELEVANT !!) AN EYE WITNESS SAID SHE WAS USING A MOBILE AT THE TIME. I DONT KNOW IF WE NEED MORE RULES OR JUST A GOOD CAMPAIGN TO MAKE PEOPLE AWARE ( BOTH PARTIES ) I DRIVE FOR A LIVING AND SEE MANY TOO CLOSE EVENTS WHERE ITS NOT ALWAYS THE DRIVER. WHEN PEOPLE ADD TO THIS WE SHOULD BE OPEN MINDED AS THERE ARE IDIOT CYCLISTS OUT THERE ASWELL.

1. First of all Jez, I hope you are on some good pain meds? My accident happened just over 4 weeks ago, and though my injuries aren't as serious as yours, (no broken bones) I still have a great deal of pain in my right thigh :( Anyway, I'll call you limpy from now on - cos that's what everyone call me now, lol!

Anyway, Re: The Bradley Wiggins incident; The same thing happened to me just a week before his. It was a young lad pulling out of a side street in his car. Unfortunately, no independent witnesses, but the cop is gunning for the driver - BIG TIME. I have been a driver and a cyclist for 40 years (I started very young - dad is a trucker, so I had a unique perspective of 'idiots' etc... using our roads).

Thing is, I feel that a campaign IS NEEDED. We used to get adverts for "Think Bike" (remember those?) which was aimed a motorbikes. I don't know if that ad was successful or not, but I know it hasn't been on for years now.